How Many Times Did Boris Johnson Vote Against The Withdrawal Agreement

After the second defeat of May`s divorce agreement, the European Council met in Brussels on 21 March to decide what to do next. EU leaders have given May two options: postpone Brexit until 22 May if MPs vote in favour of the withdrawal deal, or postpone it until 12 April if they vote against the deal. If the deal fails again in Parliament, May could ask for a lengthy extension. In the face of inexorable opposition, May postponed a parliamentary vote on the deal on 10 December. The next day, she met with Chancellor Angela Merkel to get assurances that she hoped would be enough to convince skeptical lawmakers to back the deal. But while she was gone, radical conservatives triggered a vote of no confidence. May won the vote the next day. On the European Union side, the European Parliament also approved the ratification of the agreement on 29 January 2020[40] and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by e-mail on 30 January 2020. [42] That is why, on 30 January 2020, the European Union also tabled its instrument for ratification of the agreement, concluding the agreement[43] and allowing it to enter into force on the date of the UK`s withdrawal from the EU on 31 January 2020, at 11 .m GMT. The Prime Minister was rewarded for his convincing election victory by comfortably overcoming his agreement on a vote in the House of Commons. The UK`s exit from the EU now seems inevitable. On 16Thover, the British Parliament voted 432 to 202 against May`s Brexit deal. In response to the result, European Council President Donald Tusk suggested that the only solution be for the UK to remain in the EU.

Meanwhile, the British Labour Party has called for a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister, his second leadership challenge in as many months. The EU law (withdrawal agreement) would also prohibit the government from extending beyond 2020 the transitional period – when the UK withdraws from the EU, but respects many of its rules. But the government was less successful in persuading independent Conservatives to back its timetable for the passage of the agreement, which was heavily criticized during Tuesday afternoon`s debate in the House of Commons. Nine independent Conservatives voted against Mr Johnson`s timetable, including Clarke, Rory Stewart and Philip Hammond. If they had been the other way around, Mr. Johnson would have won on both points. Ms Phillips said the “SNP education crisis and increased wait times” in Scotland should be issues “that are close to their hearts.” Mrs May still faces the great task of securing a majority in favour of the withdrawal agreement, with the DUP insisting that her 10 MPs will all vote against it. Former Prime Minister Theresa May is now in deep talks with her former whip leader Julian Smith. They probably remember how fun it was when their withdrawal agreement was hammered out at every vote earlier this year Six Labor members voted for the bill – Sarah Champion, Rosie Cooper, Jon Cruddas, Emma Lewell-Buck, Grahame Morris, Toby Perkins.

Posted in Uncategorized